Please help a poor man save his MANTA!

mantadoc

Hello all,

I haven't posted much, not much at all, however I am a member of the club and have attended VBOA meets at billing for the past 5 years. I've had 2 Manta's, a 1979 SR Berlinetta - a beauty which sadly succumbed to rot and my current manta a 1988 Exclusive with 2.0GTE Block and 1.8 running gear.

Ok, here it is - I know you don't get anything in life for free but then again, if you don't ask, you don't know, so I am asking. Please, PLEASE! - If there is anyone out there who would be willing to help restore her to her former glory, I would be most grateful

She's been stood about 2 years now (2 years too long!) while i've been out of the country, now i've returned and she's rotten, not totally and not actually all too bad I don't think. However, I am no expert and would appreciate the knowledge and experience of others. She has been undersealed about 2/3 underneath, the engine bay has also been undersealed. I have a new petrol tank to put in, along with a few other bits and pieces. The engine and box are currently in my garage. The interior is fitted, with the exception of the instrument panel.

I would like to get her solid, any welding and or bodywork sorted and sent away for respray. Any help with ANYTHING would be much, much appreciated.

As I have said, I don't really have much money and cannot repay anybody with anything except my gratitude and the joy of seeing another Manta back on the road!

I am in the Greater Manchester area, Rochdale to be precise. (Not too far from Gary for you owners club members out there

You can reply to this post or catch me on my mobile (07706793511) if you'd like to help.

Once again, thank you for your time reading this and thank you in advance to those who can help!

Cheers!

Jack

1979 SR Berlinetta 2.0

1988 GTE/GTJ conversion

Three things we need to know really to get an idea of what would be involved-