Manta A 1972 (Tax Exempt)

Manta_a

Really do not want to sell this car, however I'm a student and simply dont have the time or money to see it through.

I purchased the car in September last year. Its a 1972, tax exempt, 1.6 engined Manta A currently in red. I checked on the numbers and it appears it would have originally been cream or brown or similar. When looking for a Manta A I was very picky, these cars as everyone knows have a tendency to rust everywhere!

I was really lucky to find this car, it had been restored some 10 years ago and dry stored ever since. There is practically no rust anywhere on the shell. I say practically as the car is at a garage I am lending and I really need to check it over again as i've not worked on it in some 3-4 months. The only rust I have found is at the bottom of the passenger door. The drivers door I remember to be good.

I never heard the engine running as the car was missing the carb when I received it, however I was informed by the previous owner that the engine had also been extensively rebuild and covered little to no mileage since. I have since purchased a webber 32/36? Or similar carb however not fitted it.

The paint was shabby when I had the car and so I decided that I would strip the car, repaint it to a high standard and then use it daily.