Manta Rebuild Saved From Scrap

stagcar

I have managed to dig out some pictures of the manta V8 project that i have been working on for a few years now.

Its got an ex army rebuilt rover v8 in it with a hot cam and valve gear also got a nice new edelbrook and holley vac secondry carb to fit so it should be nice when done!

The original CIH was ill and would have needed a rebuild so i dident feel that bad about ripping it out.

It will never be a show car and i dont want it to be (good excuse not to spend hours sorting the shell) LOL

The manta has been in the family for about 15 years or so and it was one of my first cars i then passed it over to my sister that loved it for abut 3 years untill it failed its MOT on rot

After that it sat on there farm for a about 6 years just rusting away so i decided to get it and do somthing with it rather then it getting scrapped.

here is a few pictures just to outline the work that has been done and to highlight the rust.

BacksillRotInnerAndouter.jpg

Rusty Rear sill inner outer and middle

Rustholeinroof.jpg

Now got a big plate over the lot not ideal but it will do untill i get a nice second hand roof

08102008118.jpg

Patchwork inner wing with a fresh coat of hammerite

DSC00392.jpg

This is all welded and painted now with a new lip to mount the wing on.

08102008122.jpg

Back arch and sill done and painted to stop rust.

IMG_0259.jpg

Almost looks like a manta in this shot LOL

well that's about it for now

Got the new starter today so may just plumb it all up and see it it runs weekend if the kids and wife will let me get near it.

Cheers

Derek

Stagcar? roof wise? I'd wipp-out the front windscreen, removing all the steel sunroof bits 'from the inside'.

Wee trip to scrap yards and get a glass sunroof from a renault clio (£20 max) big sunroof.

Measure up glass sunroof, then drill 6-8 holes, then using a very fine jigsaw blade, cut slowly from one hole to the other