Where Does The Name "manta Come From?

mantaberry

Dear all,

I would like to know all the details of how and why this car type was named "manta" (including the source of the info).

Currently I am writing a book on manta rays, and I am wondering if the name is derived from this fish species?

If there is a link between the two, I would love to incorporate it in my book.

Please help me out, as I am not experienced with cars in general and Opel manta in particular.

Many thanks for your time,

Berry Beersen

The car gets it's name from the fish, the earlier cars had the fish on them...

http://i.pbase.com/o4/05/562505/1/60728001.Manta.jpg

Adam Opel was the guy who set up Opel cars.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adam_Opel

'Devil Fish' because thats what they were called originally due to their 'horns'

As to why it was called 'Manta', probably because they wanted to name it after something beautiful, majestic and impressive. Doubt whether 'Opel Dog's Arse' would have sold very well.

Seriously though, I'm not sure I've ever come across the reasoning... we need the true anoraks like of Rab, 1900SR and so on to comment!

Hope you watched the BBC's Life program a few weeks back....awesome footage of Manta Rays. There was also a good program about tagging them recently too (might have been the same one)....one woman's mission to get them protected... was very interesting.

Anyway, awesome creatures, let us know when the book gets published, I find them very fascinating!

Oh, the cars are great too, and don't let anyone tell you otherwise!

Personally I would say it was because the original A series bore a passing resemblance to the late 60's/early 70's Corvette....also known as the Stingray. :rolleyes:

Stingray to Mantaray doesn't take a great leap of the imagination. <_<

Shorten it to Manta, et voila, a car is born :rolleyes:

Altho personally I would have given the GT that name as it is a mini Corvette.... :thumbup