Buying A Manta A V8

MattMe

Hi everyone,

Just had a quick poke round the projects page and I ahve to say there are some brave people on here undertaking the projects they do.

That said, I'm not new to classics/rust and tasty engine conversions :)

I am new to Mantas and this forum and just looking for some basic advice.

As a Manta has been offered at a good price and has already had the V8 conversion done I'm very tempted to buy a completed car rather than put the hours in myself :)

I'm concerned that all has been done to the car apaprently is a V8 conversion kit for a Manta B purchased and the gearbox tunnel widened. It's running an SD1 engine & box. (standard SU carb rubbish too!). I had a Mk1 Capri with a V8 and I kept blowing out the windscreen till I fitted a strut brace so I'm now more concerned about structural integrity when undertaking things like this.

So my first question is what steps would you usually expect when fitting a V8 to a Manta A in terms of addind strength to the car? Is it necessary?

How do the cars handle this kind of power. From what I can tell the suspension setup if quite a lot better than the Crapi, being wishbone fronts and panhard on the rear. What are common suspension improvements? (ie anti-tramp needed?)

Brakes. They're good if you don't want to drive into a tree. I like brakes. What kind of upgrades would you usually see on higher powered Mantas?

And any other general advice what to look for in particular.

I'm sure you'll see me around on here a lot in future!

Matt.

If I remember correctly the Rover V8 is about 20 lbs lighter than the opel Cam in head pig iron lump of an engine, so suspension set up should not be too much of a problem.

Many many ways to upgrade the brakes if running tired 'A' series calipers, although good calipers (better than fitted to the later 'B's) there is not a lot of pad/disc area, have a search on the site for brakes.