New Respray Needed?

NetFrog

I'm a total newbie when it comes to cars, I like to drive em but other than a wheel change I really do know very little!

I bought an opel manta B hatch earlier this year which in the main is in lovely condition, it had a full respray done in June 2011 I think it was so really not that long ago. However I am noticing bubbles coming up on the roof which I assume is rust coming up from the underneath?

There are a few other areas that it is happening too also. Not too major right now but my guess is that it will only start to get worse.

So what do I do? A full respray or is it a case of a rub down over the areas and then resprayed in patches?

It really is a lovely car and was rebuilt by a guy on here so I want to try and keep it in tip top condition and hopefulyl learn a few bits on the way about cars!

Cheers

Don't panick!!

The roof area around the sun roof is prone to rusting from the inside out due to condensation on the underside of the roof. Now you can try and to do a quick repair and reprint here but it will keep coming back until you cut out the offending item. The simplest sustainable solution is to cut out the entire sunroof and replace it with another one. I have never done this myself but believe several members have done using renault Clio sunroof??

I replaced the entire roof skin with that of a non sunroof manta but that's a big job and not for the faint hearted or unskilled! Take a look at my project thread and you will see where the dreaded rust likes to live!!

http://forums.mantaclub.org/topic/23539-manta-b-project-underway/

Maybe some pics of the effected areas would help with advice!

Edited by upk

I'll see what I can do about pics. The sunroof itself was wax sealed shut to avoid this problem and it not the only area it is happening in. I'll gram me cam and when the sun decides to pop out (hahaha) i'll post a couple of piccies.