Manta A Automatic ?

ansbro79

hi guys im a newb lol so hi :) need help and advise from the guys in the know. that would be you lol. ive been after an A series manta for over a year. i do actually want one that needs work to keep me busy until summer...of which year im unsure lol. a friend of a friend is selling a A series 1976 1.6 Automatic manta. now i really wanted a manual but was wondering if you guys could give me some pointers in whats needed to get a bigger lump in the auto which engine gear box etc or should i hold out for a manual. ive heard of autos being converted to manual...... help me guys as i guess their is nobody better to ask..... thanks for your time daz

Hi Daz

Welcome to the club!

The auto will be just right, as you can just drop the Getrag 5 speed box from the later mantas (which is needed as the old 4 speed is not as good as the 5 speed) into it as you need an auto prop for the conversion :-) It needs a bit of work on the linkage but i can supply pics if needed.

And the A series will take any on the opel manta lumps, 1.9, 2.0 and even the 2.2 and frontera 2.4! but the 2.2/2.4 need a bit more work! or if your up for a coversion to something better a lot of people drop the Vauxhall 2.0 16V in them. You should find lots of info in the project secion of the site. Im more for the old school CIH original engine, as with a bit of work you can get some good power out of them. Mine started life as a 1.6 and has moved up a little bit in power, just not got it finished yet :-)

The main thing on the A series is to have a good look at the bodywork as you can spend a lot of time and money putting this right!

I hope some of this info helps you in your quest :-)

Andy

p.s your in the right place for parts help as well as think i have found most places to get bits from while doing mine up!