Removing Manta 1800 Gearbox - Idiot's Guide?

Fermanta

Evening lads, about to embark on removing a gearbox from a Manta. My local friendly mechanic that usually nips out to my shed to do such dirty jobs for me is on holidays, so I  need to do it myself. Any tips or what problems am I likely to encounter? I'm not a mechanic, but have tools so that's a start. Oh the drive shaft is also to be removed.I tried to remove the 19mm bolts accessible from under the bonnet, but cold only remoe the two on the passenger side, I think I may need a really long spanner to remove the third one, near the servo.

I currently have the car well jacked up with plenty of space to get under it, but that's as far as I am.  Help, please :)

Fermanta, drain oil first, hexy allen key, bottom of box. Or if you keep the drive shaft in gearbox side, when lowering.

Stick with me,

To get more clearance, remove shocks, bolt from steering nuckle, and bolts that hold front suspension to chassis legs, front anti~roll bar both ends.

support body of car, solid! jacking points, lower engine box and front suspension a inch or so! Support with jack

This allows clearance to remove bolts from bulkhead area, and allows bellhousing to clear both bulkhead, and pressure plate.

Lower gear bag with a jack.

Ive it down to 35mins, working flatout! When assembled, engine box and complete front suspension where inserted from beneath, car.

Hope this isnt to make a few quid on an ole gearbox.

Omega, carlton boxes are far better!!

Some say, gearbox can be removed without this lot, but its alot less effort this way, lve removed 8 now, all this way, except a 4 speed!

Edited by brady
  • Like 1

I've always removed the getrag 5 speed on both GTE and 1.8 Without lowering front suspension. On the 3.0 litres didn't even need to worry about the lever.

Remove prop, condom or latex glove over tail housing to keep oil in.