rip off

Julian

Due to a situation in the family, which means I will have to do a few more miles in my Cavalier, I phoned Adrian Flux to raise my limited mileage from 3,000 per year to 5,000, what a shock it was to hear that it would cost me £70, I've been driving since 1951, never ever having to make, or having a claim made against me, driven heavy good, coaches and buses, so why 70 quid for a couple of extra miles over twelve months? insurance companies always have been and always will be ripoff merchants. So time to shop around I think. 

Hi Julian, not defending Adrian Flux as such, but in the case generally of classic car insurance policies. I think the reason is that classic car policies are inherently cheap compared to general private car policies as the vehicles tend to be used only occassionally, and driven carefully, and subsequently a very low risk. Therefore most, not all, agree limited mileage annually that usually is more than adequate for most, so your nice cheap premium reflects this.

As you are almost doubling your annual mileage limit, to them you're significantly increasing the risks associated with classic car motoring. Adrian Flux are a broker, not an insurer, so it may well be that by requesting such an increase in your annual limit, they have to push your policy into another bracket that they have available to them from the end insurer, and therefore a fixed additional premium applies. 

Sadly it's probably irrevelent of your age or experience in this case, it's purely down to statistics and the more you're out on the road, the more likely you are to have an accident. Fault or non-fault.

£70 seems a lot if you're only paying circa £100 annual premium in the first place, but if you compared it to an non-classic policy on a more modern car, it's probably still really cheap?

• Like 1