Mattig 400 style kit name?

falk5150

I am no expert on kits , I have built a 400r and a Mantzel  car. Not every ones cup of tea, but they are both nice in their own way and it is a period MOD.   I fitted the Mantzel kit to my car  that's what it was called on the certs that were stuck to the inside of the panels. Wheels are tricky and costly to get. I was lucky enough to buy all the bits including a car, I needed to build my mantzel off P.W.S Jim in Montrose over several years as it happens. I think there are other narrow body kits that are also mantzel kits. The kit I got does have the panels that go on the doors.

The front 400 kit differs from the mantzel as the front wings are joined across the front with a valance, the mantzel front bumper wraps around the corner and the wings sit on top of the bumper. I have seen a 400r done with a mantzel front end and 400 rear arches, looked nice also. The mantzel kit makes my 400r look narrow, it sticks out 8 inches from the body at the rear. As it stands , mine wont go on a car transported as the rear wheels are wider that the trailer bed. The 400r fits fine. Hope that gives you an idea,  that's just my take on things. It s always possible to change the rear wheels for standard wheels to get it on a trailer if need be...........

• Like 2

46 minutes ago, GerryC400 said:

I am no expert on kits , I have built a 400r and a Mantzel  car. Not every ones cup of tea, but they are both nice in their own way and it is a period MOD.   I fitted the Mantzel kit to my car  that's what it was called on the certs that were stuck to the inside of the panels. Wheels are tricky and costly to get. I was lucky enough to buy all the bits including a car, I needed to build my mantzel off P.W.S Jim in Montrose over several years as it happens. I think there are other narrow body kits that are also mantzel kits. The kit I got does have the panels that go on the doors.