Brake overhaul but no rear brakes

hoobby

New master (20.64mm)and wheel cylinders (19mm)fitted fronts are fine  but can't get rears to come on there trying but only dragging on the drums with brakes applied have the self adjusting type both have moved since fitting system is all bleed including the master so do I have a duff master or could it be the pressure control valve?.  Brake system left for 10 years with fluid in a real mess!.

Edited by hoobby

If there is still air in the system or if the rears are out of adjustment the pedal will be soft or have a lot of travel.if the pedal is firm with very little movement then it would possibly suggest a problem with the limiter valve although I have never seen one fail other than leak.

confirm that the pipe connections are correct to the said valve,confirm that the rear cylinders are not seized and everything assembled correct and adjusted manually as far as possible .

i suppose to confirm this valve you could make up a small pipe with two female ends to loop-out the pressure valve and see if the rears work..if this valve is found to be faulty then there are a few versions available.  

Very early with only two pipes(limiter only)

standard approx19777. To 1982 approx cast iron type,prone to leaks thou.

and the later version that looks like a tall cylinder. (Also a brass tall square type later version too)

But that’s if it’s actually faulty. Could even be the new master cyl ?  Worth another bleed and some good hard pedal presses !

I have just moved the auto adjusters a lot to take the slack up and it's not till the drums are dragging I get good solid brakes don't think the pistons are moving far enough hopefully due to air just got to wait for my wife to get in then bleed down the old reliable way.