Alternator options

After a little issue with the alternator not charging on the trip to Sywell and back! which i suspect is the alternator which was brand new and a him capacity Prestolite one (the battery is high amp as well) i now need to do some investigation but wondered when others are running?

I suspect its the alternator (but need to do some testing) as it did have the odd moment or two on the way back that it would suddenly pick up and charge for the odd few mins.

Im going to check all the connections etc.. first but it has not done it in all the time i have been running around and saved it for the longest trip so far!

thanks

Andy

I’m not an electrical expert by any means but sometimes you have to go back to basic. What voltage does is across the battery at idle? Then turn on as many consumers as you can (lights, blowers, radio, heated rear window) and see what voltage drop you get. Alternator should only drop a little. If it drops a lot, then the alternator isn’t up to the job. 

2 hours ago, Sutty2006 said:

I’m not an electrical expert by any means but sometimes you have to go back to basic. What voltage does is across the battery at idle? Then turn on as many consumers as you can (lights, blowers, radio, heated rear window) and see what voltage drop you get. Alternator should only drop a little. If it drops a lot, then the alternator isn’t up to the job. 

It used to work fine before. It just decided to wait for the long trip to Sywell before stopping 🙂

1 hour ago, Paul Barrett said:

We didn’t have a meter yesterday to check but you should be seeing at the very least 13v at the battery when running