Newbie From Sheffield

Hello to everyone on the OMOC I'm a newbie from Sheffield.

For many a year I have followed the site, longing to become both a member and an owner and now I'm very proud to say I'm both.

Mantas are in my blood, my dad owned a B coupe in kingfisher blue and my uncle owned a B coupe in glacier white. I remember the day I first saw my dad's, I was only 6 and he and my uncle had set off to view the car the previous night just before I went to bed so when they returned I was fast asleep. When I woke up I could not wait to see it, I asked my dad if he had got it and he told me to look out of the window. There sat on the street was a kingfisher blue B coupe, I don't remember the full reg but it was C*** KOL. The previous owner had sold it to fund his wedding and it was beautiful. From that day I knew I wanted one which brings me to my car.

For the last year/year and a half I'd noticed an increasing demand of people wanting B coupes which was outweighing the number of cars that were available, thus pushing prices towards my budget ceiling and cars getting snapped up fast (good for owners but not for me).

By the time I realised I had to buy now or never I had a fairly small budget as I have 3 gorgeous kids and have to build a garage too, so I had to shop smart. From previous searches on the web I remembered seeing a non sunroof B coupe rolling shell on retro rides back in September which needed a lot of work and was been sold by our very own Simon P. Although it had been 8 months since it was advertised I thought it was worth a long shot. After a few messages, a phone call and pictures, a price was agreed including delivery ( which I can't thank Simon enough for) and now I'm just waiting to finish the garden (wife's orders) and build my garage before I can take delivery and get cracking with my project of which the heart will eventually be a tuned 4.6 rover v8 that I kept from our old range rover p38 coupled to a 5 speed manual gearbox.