Carburettor Problems. Any Ideas?

h0tr0dder_uk

Hey all. Im hoping you can help guide me with a problem Im trying to solve. There is a new member on here (regaladojasmine) from San Diego (Like me) that has just bought an A series. Unfortunately it wont run now. I went to take a look and managed to get it started by spraying engine starter down the carb. The car would stall as soon as it used up this fluid though. We pulled off the fuel line and its pumping fuel through ok, So my thoughts are that its either bad fuel or a carb problem. Easiest to try first is draining the tank (which she is going to get done) and try with fresh fuel. On my way home though I was wondering if it could be a simple problem with a vacuum line or the auto choke or something? Any ideas?

Also would it be worth rebuilding the carb (if needed) or simply change it for a brand new one (I want this person to have a reliable car).

Im not very good with carbs as Im a fuel injection guy at heart :D

The first thing i'd think of is the carb is blocked with dirt, needle valve, jets etc, if you can get a rebuild kit, take it apart, clean it and put it together with new seals etc.

when you refit the carb put a fuel filter in the fuel pipe, prehaps between the fuel pump and carb so as the fuel pump doesn't struggle to suck fuel from the tank, that way if there is muck in the tank you only have to clean out/replace a filter not rebuild the carb all the time.