Retrofitting Commodore Bits Onto A Manta

Stev0

Hey guys..

I've now heard from a couple of people that fitting commodore suspension onto a manta A is a good move. The thing that I want to know is: what bolts straight on? what needs modifying before it goes on? and what bits are ideal to source from a commodore breaker for my manta?

I am VERY new to the RWD scene and i'm not at all familiar with the suspension and drivetrain setup on the cars, so pictures will help the cause immensely..

thanks guys

hi,

As far as i'm aware nothing is a straight bolt on swop.

The front track of a Commodore is 3.2" wider than a Manta A so i can only assume that the mounting points are different, but why would you need to fit it as the front suspension of the A can be improved dramatically by springs, shockers and bigger brakes whilst still retaiing the original set up.

As far as the rear axle goes the Commodore is 4 / 5 linked so would need extra mountings to support the top links, also a new prop and mountings,its also wider. Not a quick bolt on job

If you are intending to keep the power fairly standard, again springs, shockes and maybe 6" wide wheels with good tyres will more than suffice.

Of course ,if someone has carried out this conversion and can correct me regarding the ease please do.

@spiney: I can buy a complete, running 2.8 commodore C in South Africa for about 200quid, minus the roadworthy and licence but for a breaker car you don't need those..

@doveyte: I'm planning on using a 2.4 isuzu sub assembly (exact same block as C20XE, just taller), with an 8v SEH head ported with bigger valves, and running it on sidedrafts.. the planned power is going to be in the region of 100 - 130kW, but the torque is going to jump quite substantially.. if the standard drivetrain doesn't crap itself for that then it's better to keep the entire setup as it is.