Another Scottish member from Ayrshire

Bonga

Wanted one for a wee while. Viewed one last night and going back for it early next week one I get my garage cleared out.

Bought a manta B hatch with 2.0 xe. Looks solid enough previous owner is a panel beater (convenient) and done a fair bit of welding. Needs a bit of work inside as it's pretty tatty. 

1st thing that needs done is the brakes. Was thinking of a rear disc conversion and upgrading the fronts.

This is my 1st project and hoping to learn ad I go along. Love cars but never really worked on them as I make my living as a sparky (now off the tools). Hoping other members will be abe to steer me in the right direction with the manta.

Billy

Stay in crookedholm just outside kilmarnock.

Did u used to have a blue corsa b with the private plate same as your user name? I'm sure av seen the plate kicking around ayr from back in my "doon the shore" days 😀

Front disc conversion, might be worth speaking to Mantasrme on the forum as he was making kits a while back from Audi vented front discs, redrilled and centre bore opened and Astra/Calibra 52/24 Calipers. You can use Volvo 4 pots with Carlton discs but most people are moving away from that setup.

Rear calipers there are different types as well but I think mine are XR3 front discs and Sierra 1.8/2.0 litre rear calipers and carriers, using the handbrake cable from the Serria.

I can email you some pictures if you require, if so PM me your email address.

• Like 1

I like the sound of the kits. I'll message mantasrme later. I'll send through my email you can send the pics through when u have time...no rush but the xr3 setup sound cost effective and should be loads better than the standard setup what brakes do you use on the front of yours?