Motorcycle carbs on 2.0 S

Cone8v

Hello, its my first time posting here. 

I bought a 1979 manta b 2.0s a couple of years ago. Im doing the body work and its coming along nicely, the engine runs but it has a small carb making around 80-90hp and i want to change that. There are no used weber 40 mm's in my country for some reason, the new ones are around 500eu a piece from a neigbhouring country.

Im 19 and i dont have a thousand euros to drop just on the carbs. My dad owns a car body shop so im doing all the body work/welding myself, only paying for materials. Im also working as a mechanic so im doing everything by myself. Dad has owned his manta since he was 18 so i have a ton of spare parts and his knowledge. Without that id never get to where i am right now with the project. 

I thought of getting motorcycle carbs, for example the yamaha r1 carbs. I would separate them, weld the separate intake pipes and make a throttle linkage, weld the vaccum line for the brakes and connect them to the intake pipes . The brake servo pump is on the left side where the steering wheel is so i wont have problems with fitment of the carbs.

Ill be changing the valve seats in the future because these ones are made for an old type of fuel that had lead in it, might fit bigger valves if i find them, all the parts for this engine are insanely expensive or not available. Thats why i want to build the carb system with bike carbs. 

I dont know which jets i need to feed this engine. Does anyone have specs for the idle jet, main jet etc?

The stock jets feeding the 1000c bike engine are surely not enough for the 2.0 right? 

• Like 1

Welcome @Cone8v.

I can’t advise you about whether bike carbs are a good combination with the Manta cih engine, but what I would say is proper investment in developing car carburettors stopped years ago, unlike bike carbs that are still being improved every day.