Diy Paint Job

Thomas77GR

Hello

I am thinking of tackling painting my A series DIY. Have been looking at these Burisch units on ebay (compressor, spray gun etC) has anyone any experience with using them?

at the factory where I work we have ample compressed air through a rotary vane compressor unit. Can't I just buy a spray gun with its hoses and a bucket and plug in the gun into one of our compressed air line sockets?

and what sort of paint am I looking to buy for an Aseries?

I'm based in Scotland.

many thanks for any advice

The garages I've been to ask/get a quote quoted me >£2k!

£2k sounds like a good price to me.

I'm sure u know u get what u pay for in life and defo true with paint work.

I'm no expert but i know it's not just about the painting,the quality of prep work is just as,if not more important.

To give you some idea, to paint a bare shell, from scratch, underneath in phosphate etch primer then tinted raptor, then prep all shell with all filler work, reface coat, block sand, phosphate etch, build prime, block sand, prepaint, wet block sand, paint, all with masking and unmasking etc etc takes us around 200hours........... Of which around 15 are actually holding the spray gun

• Like 1

I've used a normal small compressor and spray gun but mostly used Apollo HVLP setup on and off for 20 years and my mates have all borrowed it too.

Things I have learnt.

Loads of coats of filler primer and flatting in between with wet 'n' dry 1200 when each coat has flashed off is pretty light work

As long as your primer is flat with no runs in plenty of coats of top coat, flatting in between when flashed off etc but here is the key bit, if your top coat is thick enough when done, even if not glossy as long as you have enough thickness to wet 'n' dry 1200 down untill flat and then T cut till it shines it will look good and be smooth as glass.

This obviously only really applies to solid colours and simple traditional paints.